← Ingredient & E-number explorer

✓

E-number E200 · Preservatives

Sorbic acid

Halal

Typical source
Synthetic
Plain-language explanation
Sorbic acid (E200) is a natural preservative found in some berries but is usually made commercially from a chemical process. It is considered halal by major certification bodies like JAKIM, MUI, and MUIS because it is not derived from animal sources. Its halal status is generally not a concern as it is a synthetically produced or plant-based compound. Therefore, you can find it in many certified halal foods without worry.

Related additives

Scan a product →